Image of black text with drop shadow that reads: Ontarians With Disabilities Act Committee

Letter to the Honourable Helen Johns

July 26, 1999

The Honourable Helen Johns,
Minister of Citizenship, Culture and Recreation,
6th Floor, 77 Bloor Street West,
Toronto, Ontario M7A 2R9

Dear Minister,

Re: Ontarians with Disabilities Act

I am writing on behalf of the Ontarians with Disabilities Act Committee, a broad, non-partisan coalition united to secure the enactment of a strong and effective Ontarians with Disabilities Act. We want to congratulate you on your appointment as Minister of Citizenship. We wish you the best in this new challenge, and offer to do all we can to work together with you and your Government to achieve the prompt enactment of a strong and effective Ontarians with Disabilities Act. This will result in Ontario achieving a barrier-free society for all Ontarians with disabilities, in accordance with Premier Harris' May 24, 1995 written promise to us.

Your Government has committed to hold a new consultation on the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, and thereafter to bring forward a new bill which is stronger than Bill 83(which died on the order paper last December). We would welcome an opportunity to meet with you as soon as possible to discuss the steps to be taken to fulfill the Premier's promises regarding the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, and to offer, in person, our advice and our assistance in this important project.

We also wrote to the Premier on June 6, 1999 to request a meeting with him to discuss the importance of his leadership in moving this initiative forward and to ensure that the process leading to a strong and effective Ontarians with Disabilities Act is given priority. We have received no response to date, but look forward to a favourable response in the near future.

We look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.


David Lepofsky, CM,
Chair, Ontarians with Disabilities Act Committtee

cc: Hon. Mike Harris
Dalton McGuinty, MPP
Howard Hampton, MPP
Frances Lankin, MPP
Dwight Duncan, MPP
Steve Peters, MPP
Tony Ruprecht, MPP
Rosario Marchese, MPP
Marilyn Churley, MPP


Return to Correspondence Page   |  Index Page   |  Action Kit   |